Hotline: +49 (0) 2741-95800

unique magnetic frame principle

custom made frames

Quality since 1946

Handmade in Westerwald

HALBE-Rahmen GmbH Reviews with ekomi.de

"Jin - Jiyan - Azadi" Women, Life, Freedom

About the exhibition

Sonja Hamad's solo exhibition "Jin - Jiyan - Azadi" Women, Life, Freedom can be admired by visitors in Berlin from 18 August to 07 September 2018. The exhibition is curated by Min-young Jeon. The exhibition includes 26 photographs and a sound installation with chants of the female fighters. The photos were taken in 2015 and 2016 in northern Syria and northern Iraq. There, Sonja Hamad, who is herself of Kurdish descent, accompanied women who joined the freedom struggle of the guerrilla fighters and the women's defense units for several weeks. These women went to fight with their male comrades against the tyranny of the IS. In 2015, they managed to retake the IS-occupied city of Kobane.

2-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

"The land cannot be free when women are not free"

The photographs on display show portraits of the women, as well as landscape and detail shots. What is special about viewing the photographs is that they have a narrative-documentary value and focus on the moment. This creates a very special viewing experience. Through the striking portraits of the young women, the viewer is able to witness the events and experiences and immerse themselves in the world of the fighters. The landscape photographs, on the other hand, depict crime scenes that have already received a great deal of attention through the media. For example, they show scenes caused by the IS terror regime. In the detail shots, the femininity of the female fighters, revealed through the adornment of their uniforms, is particularly in focus.

3-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

About the artist

Sonja Hamad was born in 1986 to Kurdish Yazidi parents in Syria. She came to Germany with her family at the age of three. After working as a creative assistant for an advertising photographer for two years, she began studying photography in Berlin. She successfully completed this with the project "Wenn's drauf ankommt" ("When it counts"). In 2013 she then started the project "Jin - Jiyan - Azadi" Women, Life, Freedom, with which the documentary photographer took a very political direction. Sonja Hamad lives and works in Berlin.

4-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

Frames in action

The photographs are presented in HALBE frames. Since the narrative and emotional value of the photographs is in the foreground, the picture frames optimally support the effect without themselves coming to the fore. In this way, the photograph and the frame become an impressive unit that has a special effect on the viewer. The frames are white Distance magnetic frame with 10 mm distance to the anti-reflective museum glass Mirogard, in the dimensions 550 x 700 mm as well as 800 x 1000 mm.

The exhibition at Wassertorstraße 62 in 10969 Berlin is open until September 7th. Opening hours are Wednesday to Saturday from 11 am to 6 pm, and by appointment. The exhibition is made possible by the support of the Zukunftsstiftung Mensch und Gesellschaft of the GLS-Treuhand.

FRAME CONFIGURATOR

Hotline: +49 (0) 2741-95800

ab 6,90€ Versandkosten

Kauf auf Rechnung möglich

Qualität seit 1946

Rahmen im Einsatz

»Jin – Jiyan – Azadi« Women, Life, Freedom

Über die Ausstellung

Sonja Hamads Einzelausstellung »Jin – Jiyan – Azadi« Women, Life, Freedom können Besucher vom 18. August bis zum 07. September 2018 in Berlin bestaunen. Kuratiert wird die Ausstellung von Min-young Jeon. Die Ausstellung umfasst 26 Fotografien und eine Soundinstallation mit Gesängen der Kämpferinnen. Die Fotos sind 2015 und 2016 in Nordsyrien und im Nordirak entstanden. Dort begleitete Sonja Hamad, die selbst kurdischer Abstammung ist, mehrere Wochen lang Frauen, die sich dem Freiheitskampf der Guerillakämpferinnen und der Frauenverteidigungseinheiten angeschlossen haben. Diese Frauen zogen mit den männlichen Kameraden gegen die Gewaltherrschaft der IS in den Kampf. 2015 gelang es ihnen, die von der IS besetzten Stadt Kobane zurückzuerobern.

2-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

“The land cannot be free when women are not free”

Die ausgestellten Fotografien zeigen Portraits der Frauen, aber auch Landschafts- und Detailaufnahmen. Besonders bei der Betrachtung der Fotos ist, dass sie einen erzählerisch-dokumentarischen Wert haben und den Fokus auf den Moment legen. So entsteht ein ganz besonderes Betrachtungserlebnis. Durch die eindrucksvollen Portraits der jungen Frauen wird dem Betrachter ermöglicht, die Ereignisse und Erfahrungen mitzuerleben und in die Welt der Kämpferinnen einzutauchen. In den Landschaftsaufnahmen hingegen werden Tatorte dargestellt, die durch die Medien bereits große Aufmerksamkeit erfahren haben. Beispielsweise zeigen sie Szenen, die durch das Terrorregime der IS verursacht wurden. In den Detailaufnahmen steht die Weiblichkeit der Kämpferinnen, die durch die Zierde der Uniformen offenbart wird, besonders im Fokus.

3-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

Über die Künstlerin

Sonja Hamad wurde 1986 als Kind kurdisch-yezidischer Eltern in Syrien geboren. Mit drei Jahren kam sie mit ihrer Familie nach Deutschland. Nachdem sie zwei Jahre lang als Kreativassistentin bei einem Werbefotografen gearbeitet hat, begann sie ein Studium der Fotografie in Berlin. Dieses schloss sie erfolgreich mit dem Projekt „Wenn’s drauf ankommt“ ab. 2013 begann sie dann mit dem Projekt »Jin – Jiyan – Azadi« Women, Life, Freedom, mit dem die Dokumentarfotografin eine sehr politische Richtung einschlug. Sonja Hamad lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

4-1-blog-sonja-hamad

 

Rahmen im Einsatz

Die Fotografien werden in HALBE Rahmen präsentiert. Da der erzählerische und emotionale Wert der Fotografien im Vordergrund steht, unterstützen die Bilderrahmen die Wirkung optimal, ohne dabei selbst in den Vordergrund zu rücken. So werden Fotografie und Rahmen zu einer eindrucksvollen Einheit, die eine besondere Wirkung auf den Betrachter entfaltet. Verwendet wurden weiße Distance-Magnetrahmen mit 10 mm Abstand zum entspiegeltem Museumsglas Mirogard, in den Abmessungen 550 x 700 mm sowie 800 x 1000 mm.

Die Ausstellung in der Wassertorstraße 62 in 10969 Berlin ist noch bis zum 07. September geöffnet. Die Öffnungszeiten sind Mittwoch bis Samstag von 11 bis 18 Uhr, sowie nach Vereinbarung. Ermöglicht wird die Ausstellung durch Unterstützung der Zukunftsstiftung Mensch und Gesellschaft der GLS-Treuhand.